Print this page

West Bengal: Protest against Life-Term for Lalgarh Leaders

04 July 2015
ON May 27, seven struggling left organisations of West Bengal – CPI(ML) Red Star, CPI(ML) (Liberation), CPI(ML) Class Struggle, PCC CPI(ML), CPI(ML) New Democracy, Mazdoor Kranti Parishad and Sramik Sangram Committee – organized a public meeting condemning the conviction of six leaders of the Lalgarh Movement including Chhatradhar Mahato on charges of sedition. All six have been charged under the draconian UAPA and sentenced to life imprisonment. Three activists of PCC CPI(ML) were also arrested in the same week for putting up posters protesting against the court verdict.

The meeting was addressed by Com P.S. Thakur of CPI(ML) Red Star, Com ParthaGhosh of CPI(ML) (Liberation), Com Tapan Banerjee of CPI(ML) Class Struggle, Com SantoshRana of PCC CPI(ML), Com Ajay Bakshi of MKP and Com Manab Biswas of Sramik Sangram Committee, while Com Ashish Dasgupta of CPI(ML) New Democracy presided over the meeting. All the speakers denounced the UAPA and called for the unconditional release of these 6 Lalgarh leaders and all political prisoners. The meeting also resolved to carry forward the struggle against the terror tactics of the Trinamool government of West Bengal.
2165 K2_VIEWS
Super User

Latest from Super User